NHLA Staff & Board

The National Hardwood Lumber Association Staff & Board Members are the backbone of our Association, bringing their passion, expertise, and unwavering commitment to promoting and advancing the hardwood lumber industry. With a wealth of knowledge and diverse backgrounds, our team works to serve our Members, providing invaluable resources, fostering industry relationships, and advocating for the sustainable and responsible use of North American hardwoods. Together, we strive to ensure the success and longevity of the hardwood industry, supporting our Members and the broader hardwood community with enthusiasm. Please feel free to contact any member of our Staff if you are in need of assistance or have any questions about the Association.

Staff & Board Optimized Dallin Brooks
Dallin Brooks

Executive Director


John Hester
Chief Development Officer
Renee Hornsby
Chief Operating Officer
Dana Spessert
NHLA Chief Inspector
Brennah Hutchison
Junior Copywriter
Ashley Johnson
Office Administrator
Brandon Musso
Member Services Advisor
Darci Shannon
Communication & Outreach Specialist
Desiree Freeman
Melissa Ellis
Art Director
Julia Ganey
Member Relations Manager
Jens Lodholm
Database Manager
Roman Matyushchenko
Instructor of the NHLA Inspector Training School & Associate Dean
Rachel Spiers Blossman
Digital Marketing Specialist
Geoff Webb
Dean of the NHLA Inspector Training School

NHLA National Inspectors

Please click the button for a full list of the NHLA National Inspectors.

Board of Directors - Executive Committee

Jon Syre

Cascade Hardwood LLC

Bucky Pescaglia
Vice Chairman

Missouri-Pacific Lumber Co., Inc.

Jeff Wirkkala
Past Chairman 2020-2022

Hardwood Industries, Inc.

Sam Glidden
Mission Leader of Structure & Rules Committee Chairman

GMC Hardwoods, Inc. 

 Ray White
Mission Leader of Rules

Harold White Lumber Company 

Joe Pryor
Mission Leader of Industry Advocacy & Promotion

Oaks Unlimited 

 Rich Solano
Mission Leader of Structure

Pike Lumber Company 

Stephanie VanDystadt
Mission Leader of Membership & Networking

Hull Forest Products

Rob Cabral
Mission Leader of Market Impacts

Upper Canada Forest Products, Ltd.

Current NHLA Board Members

Ed Armbruster

Northwest Hardwoods

George Bach

East Ohio Hardwood Lumber

Eric Boer

Mason’s Mill & Lumber Co.

Parker Boles

Hermitage Hardwood Lumber Sales, Inc.

Josh Brennan

Frank Miller Lumber Co. 

Bill Buchanan

Buchanan Hardwoods, Inc. 

Tom Coble

Hartzell Hardwoods, Inc.

Bill Courtney

Classic American Hardwoods

Burt Craig

Deputy Mission Leader of Membership &
Networking Committee,
Matson Lumber Co.

Greg Fitzpatrick

Fitzpatrick & Weller, Inc.

Brant Forcey

Deputy Mission Leader of the Inspector
Training School Committee,
Forcey Lumber Company

John Griffin

Frank Paxton Lumber Co. 

Monica Hastings

Cersosimo Lumber Co. 

Brin Langmuir

Falcon Lumber, Ltd. 

Dennis Mann

Deputy Mission Leader of the Convention Committee, Baillie Lumber

Jordan McIlvain

Alan McIlvain Lumber

Cameron McRae

McRae Lumber Co. 

Tom Oilar 

Deputy Mission Leader of the Lumber Services Committee, Cole Hardwood, Inc.

Tom Plaugher

Allegheny Wood Products, Inc. – Riverton Branch

George Swaner 

Deputy Mission Leader of Education Services Committee

Gus Welter

Granite Valley Forest Products – Welter

Past NHLA Chairmen

Jeff Wirkkala

Hardwood Industries, Inc.

2020 – 2022
Darwin Murray

McClain Forest Product

2018 – 2020
Brent Stief

Huron Forest Products, Inc

2016 – 2018
Pem Jenkins

Turn Bull Lumber Co.

2014 – 2016
  Scott Heidler

Heidler Hardwood Lumber Co.

2012 – 2014
Dave Redmond

Highland Hardwood Sales, Inc.

2010 – 2012
   Ted Rossi

Rossi Group

2008 – 2010
  Jim Howard

Atlanta Hardwood, Inc.

2006 – 2008
Orn Gudmundsson

Sr., Northland Corporation

2004 – 2006
Walter M. (Wally) Fields III

Memphis, Tennessee

2002 – 2004
D. Greg Kitchens

Utica, Mississippi 

2000 - 2002
Robert M. Owens

Duluth, Minnesota

1998 - 2000
Andre G. Lemire

Sherbrooke, Quebec

1996 - 1998
Wendell M. Cramer

W.M. Cramer Lumber Co., Inc.

1994 - 1996
 Jim C. Hamer

Kenova, West Virginia

1992 - 1994
Henry Fulcher

Wilmer, Texas

1990 - 1992
 John G. Thomson

Alliston, Ontario

1988 - 1990
Walter M. Fields, Jr.

Memphis, Tennessee

1986 – 1988